A Green Thumb and Patience in Waiting


I absolutely love gardening and flowers!  The picture above is of some clematis that I planted last year in Nashville.  Here in Starkville, though, I absolutely still have the ability to grow plants–and bring them back to life–in my little, college apartment.  Meet my other roommates since mine have both moved out for June….

The onion plant and the hydrangea that has come back from the dead.

At this point, you may be thinking that I am pitifully alone or something to call these two plants roommates, but whenever someone comes over to my apartment, they always get to meet these two.  I figure that you should have the same pleasure as well!

The onion plant is what is sooo funny to me.  After all, look at it up close!

Now, maybe it’s just me and my weird sense of humor, but this makes me laugh every single time that I see it!  I can’t believe that THAT thing grew out of something that I would normally cut up to make chicken stock.  Anyways, I just didn’t have the heart to throw it away.

The hydrangea used to be as tall as those stakes, but then I didn’t water it at all for about a week and a half, and the plant died.  I trimmed away the dead parts, stuck it outside for a few weeks, and a tiny green stem sprouted!  It’s been 10 months, and here’s what it looks like…

Yay!

Just as in everything with life, though, I think the crucial aspect of this was having patience–persistently and patiently waiting.   It’s amazing what growth–whether physical or spiritual–will take place if we are just willing to wait with patience…

One thought on “A Green Thumb and Patience in Waiting

Leave a Reply

